Description and Origin of VeganismBedeutung und Herkunft des Begriffs Vegan - Deutsch

 

In 1847 the Vegetarian Society was founded in Great Britain as a group of people, who wanted to eat in a more healty way. A Vegetarien was described as a human, who subsisted on a plant-based nutrituion and ate only other products, that were produced by living animals. This includes for example all milk products, as well es honey. Today, different forms of Vegetarianism do exist. All in common is the denial of eating dead animals, which includes of course all different kinds of meat.

The word Vegan was shaped by the Englishman Donald Watson in the year 1944. At the same time the Vegan Society was founded, that emerged from the English Vegetarian Society. Watson considered a vegan person as a vegetarian, who for example also categorically refuses  eating milk products or eggs, because they are not pure vegetable. The new notation vegan was formed as a short form from the beginning and the ending of the word "vegetarian".

Today the term of living a vegan way of life, describes, that not only animal products are not eaten by vegans, but they also even DO NOT USE products originating from any kind of animal (for example wool or silk). From the year 1999 on, in Austria the Vegan Society of Austria is dealing with the topics of vegan and vegatarian lifestyle.

 

Usually Vinegar is not vegan

 

First of all, one could ask the question, why vinegar is not vegan. He normally (like in our case) is a product made from somehow processed fruits. But it is a fact, that during juice processing, as well as for the purification of the vinegar before getting filled in bottles, in the purification prozesses it is the state of the art to use bentonites, proteins (extracted from poultry) and/or gelatine.

The purification process using proteins or geatine are therefore the cheapest as well as the most effective. This means, using these materials the purification process runs quite fast (possible within hours).

The turbidity material binds itself to the proteins or gelatine and floats to the bottom. The clear fluid above can be pumped out. The problem is, one inserts always that amount of additives, that all of the turbidity material falls out.

But we don´t know the exact amount of needed additives for this process before. So normally the vinegar producers insets enough of them, so that for sure all the turbidity material get caught. In addition you cannot see the additves, they are transparent. So the rest, which does not bind to the turbidity material is still present in the vinegar in some amount.

So why can´t you read the name of these additives in the list of ingredients on the label of these vinegars?

If you take a view in the food act of the European Union or Austria, you will find a special chapter dealing with these additives. There you will find, that if an additive is only needed for the production process and not added as an ingredient it is not obligatory to declare it on the label.

So if we consider that a vinegar producing company buys fuit juice to process it (because it is very seldom that these companies are owning fruit trees or having contracts with farmers) already this juice got purified. The juice producers do not know, who is going to buy their juice, so they sell only purified juices in general.

After the vinegar production a second purification is performed to gain a clear, nice product.

 

Why are our vinegars vegan ?

 

I already mentioned above, that the purification process could also be performed using bentonites. You can find this also sometimes in combination with the other methods. If you use only bentonites for the purification process you have to deal with several disatvantages. One is the necessity of preconditioning (so called swelling) which lasts several hours, as well as that bentonite has to be hold suspended in the vinegar trough stirring. Bentonites are different kinds of clay, so if not stirred, it will just sink to the bottom. With its large microscopic surface the bentonite slowly binds the turbidity material as well, but must be stirred for one or two days every few hours. After this it must set itself - and that takes a while....

Additional, in combination with vinegar, we have to use iron-free bentonites, that are quite more expensiv than others.

So we use - if at all - bentonites for the purification of our vinegars. But since all our vinegars are allowed to rest for about 2,5 years after production, the turbidity material slowly falls to the ground under its own weight (the so called gravitational purification process). You need just ones ... time. And that is, what we provide to our vinegar specialities for a perfect maturation process.

Further information to this topic you can easily receive, if you visit us and take part at a guided tour trough our vinegar manufacture.